Eagle Square is all set for the APC Presidential Primary

- Advertisement -

The stage is already set for the ruling All Progressives Congress (APCextraordinary )’s convention and presidential primary, which will take place today at Eagle Square in Abuja.

At the presidential election scheduled for February 2023, 2,322 delegates will elect or select the party’s flag bearer from among 23 presidential candidates.

- Advertisement -

The special convention and presidential primary were set for June 6 to 8, 2022, by the party’s National Working Committee (NWC).

With all of the pavillions already assigned to delegates from each state, the convention’s venue has a new look.

All of the hopefuls’ billboards, banners, and posters adorn the venue.

- Advertisement -

The delegates’ accreditation, which was originally scheduled for yesterday, will now take place today at the International Conference Centre (ICC), ahead of the special convention, which is set to begin at 3 p.m.

Unless there are last-minute amendments, the ruling party may be forced to hold an elective primary after efforts to reach a compromise failed.

Yesterday’s stakeholder meetings in the Southwest failed to produce a consensus candidate, while the party’s leaders in the Southeast and Southsouth were deadlocked.

- Advertisement -
READ ALSO:  The State of Ekiti has approved the appointment of new traditional rulers

At their respective meetings, neither area was able to produce a consensus candidate.

On Saturday, the party’s northern governors backed a power transfer to the south when President Muhammadu Buhari’s second term ends.

However, Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello angrily protested the move, while his Jigawa State counterpart, Abdubakar Badaru, happily united with his fellow northern governors.

- Advertisement -

Last night, a meeting of the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) members and governors ended in a deadlock.

Due to the incapacity of National Chairman Abdullahi Adamu to attend the meeting, which was attended by 16 of the 22 governors, the meeting was called to order after a 30-minute deliberation at the party’s secretariat.

- Advertisement -

Governors from Katsina, Niger, Nasarawa, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Osun, Kano, Jigawa, Kebbi, Kaduna, Kwara, Plateau, Lagos, Gombe, Bornu, and Ogun attended the meeting.

- Advertisement -

Senator Abubakar Kyari, the Deputy National Chairman (North), told reporters following the meeting that the discussion will go on into the night at a secret location.

The conference was eventually moved to the National Chairman’s house in the Villa, according to the Nation.

- Advertisement -


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!