As 15 former governors who are still in office fight for Senate seats there is a misunderstanding in the APC

- Advertisement -

The All Progressives Congress, or APC, has given the Independent National Electoral Commission, or INEC, a full list of all of its candidates for senator.

Fifteen of the people on the list are either former governors or governors who are still in office.

- Advertisement -

Orji Uzor Kalu is running for re-election to the Senate as the leader of the majority party. From 1999 to 2007, he was Governor of Abia State.

Godswill Akpabio was in the 8th Assembly. He was the governor of Akwa-Ibom State from 2007 to 2015. He didn’t get re-elected, but he was given a job as a minister as a consolation prize. He quit that job to run for the APC’s presidential nomination.

At the convention, Mr. Akpabio gave up his position and backed Bola Tinubu, who won the primary in the end.

- Advertisement -

Kashim Shettima is also running for re-election to the Senate. From 2011 to 2019, he was the governor of Borno State. Adams Oshiomhole, who used to be governor of Edo State, is running for office for the first time.

Danjuma Goje has been given permission to run again for the Gombe Central Senatorial District election, even though he is in a power struggle with Governor Inuwa Yahaya.

READ ALSO:  N10m NECO Job Scam Snares Couples and Three Others

He was governor of Gombe State from 2003 to 2011. He was first elected to the Senate in 2011. In 2015 and 2019, he was re-elected.

- Advertisement -

In the third republic, from 1992 to 1993, Kabiru Gaya was Governor of Kano State.

He has been in the Senate since 2007 and has been chosen to run again for Kano South Senatorial District.

From 2011 to 2015, Tanko Almakura led the state of Nasarawa. After being governor for a few years, he moved to the Senate in 2015.

- Advertisement -

When he ran for the position of National Chairman of the APC in March, Mr. Almakura tried to move into party leadership. But he gave up his place to Abdulahi Adamu.

Gbenga Dainel used to run the state of Ogun as Governor. From 2003 to 2011, Mr. Daniel was the governor of his state. Aliyu Wamako, who used to be the governor of Sokoto State, was also chosen to run again in the Sokoto North senatorial district. He led the state from 2007 to 2015.

- Advertisement -

Ibrahim Geidam, who used to be the governor of Yobe State, also got the APC’s approval to run again for the Yobe East senatorial district. From 2011 to 2019, he led the state.

- Advertisement -
READ ALSO:  The meeting between Buhari and the APC governors has been revealed

The 2019 Senate election was won by Abdulaziz Yari, who used to be the governor of Zamfara State. But a court ruled that none of the APC candidates could run in the election.

He has been fighting with his successor, Bello Matawella, over who is the best for the past four years. As part of the political deal between Mr. Yari and the governor, Mr. Yari was given the senatorial ticket.

- Advertisement -

From 2011 to 2019, Mr. Yari was governor.

Next year, Governor Abubakar Bagudu’s second term will end. He wants to be in the Red Chamber by representing Kebbi Central.

Adamu Aliero, who used to be governor and now represents that district, has switched to the PDP because he was not given a return ticket.

- Advertisement -

The governor of Niger State, Sani Bello, will also be done with his job by 2023. Like some of his other coworkers, he has his sights set on Red Chamber.

- Advertisement -

He wants to be the upper chamber member for Niger North.

The governor of Ebonyi State, David Umahi, ran for president of the APC. But he lost to the person who won in the end.

- Advertisement -
READ ALSO:  ASUU strike: Buhari govt to be dragged to court

He has chosen the Senate as his second choice.

- Advertisement -

Mr. Umahi wants to be the senator for the district of Ebonyi South.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!